South Carolina Boating Education Class
All resident and non-resident boaters under 16 years of age must successfully complete a boater education course that is approved by the SC Department of Natural Resources before operating a personal watercraft (jet ski) or a boat powered by 15 hp motor or more without supervision. The Boater Education Program is dedicated to teaching the fundamentals of safe and responsible boating. Participants are urged to arrive prior to the start time. The class will promptly start at 9:00am. Participants are encouraged to bring a snack or bag lunch as we'll being working through lunch. All children under the age of 12 must be accompanied by an adult for the duration of the class. The minimum age to take the exam and be certified is 10. Participants must pre-register at www.dnr.sc.gov and clicking on the boater education icon or by calling 803.734.3995. It's first come, first served and is a free event.
2017-07-22 13:00:00 UTC
About South Carolina Department of Natural Resources
Boaters under 16 years of age are required by law to pass an approved boating education course before operating, without supervision, a personal watercraft (jet ski) or a boat powered by a motor of 15 horsepower or more. The South Carolina Boater Education Course is recommended for motivated students 12 years of age and older with good reading and comprehension skills who want to learn more about the fundamentals of safe and responsible boating. Course materials are on a 6th-grade reading level.A typical Boater Education Course lasts 6-8 hours with exam time, depending on the class location and instructor.NOTICE TO PARENTS: Students under 12 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.